Home > Sports > Your Bob Costas Awards, Er, Sports Emmy Recap: HBO, PTI Headline Night

Your Bob Costas Awards, Er, Sports Emmy Recap: HBO, PTI Headline Night

April 27, 2010

HBO raked in the honors and Pardon the Interruption took down a TNT giant at the 31st Annual Just Name The Darn Thing After Bob Costas And Be Done With It Awards in New York City Monday night.

Note: I believe they use the more widely-recognized name of Sports Emmys, but with Costas winning his, what, 31st in a row for Outstanding Studio Host, they should just name the award after him so someone else has a chance to win. Despite stiff competition this year in that category – James Brown, Bryant Gumbel, Chris Fowler and Ernie Johnson all showed up in tuxes but left in bridesmaids dresses yet again – Costas took home another trophy to add to his collection. And honestly, in an Olympic year, was there any doubt?

HBO took home nine awards, which was the most for any one network by more than double. The ESPN family of networks raked in seven awards while NBC and NBCOlympics.com combined for five. CBS and CBS/Showtime also combined for five and in its first year as a network, MLB Network raked in four. Now, to be fair, three of those were technical awards – well deserved, by the way – for MLB Tonight and the fourth was the award given to Costas. Of course, it’s uncertain if Costas really won the award more for his work at NBC or his very solid work at MLB Network, including the Mark McGwire interview and his hosting duties with Studio 42. That said, it’s Costas. He could be sitting on a street corner with a cardboard box for a desk and an empty roll of paper towels for a camera and he’s probably still win the Emmy for Outstanding Studio Host.

Have I mentioned Bob Costas won an Emmy yet?

Of the nine awards for HBO, five were for different boxing shows, with four of those coming in different categories for the 24/7 series, including the Dick Schaap Writing Award for 24/7 Pacquiao-Hatton.

The big winner of the night, however, had to be Pardon the Interruptionwhich won a long-overdue Emmy in the category of Outstanding Studio Show – Daily, finally beating out Inside the NBA on TNT. In fact, if you saw how disinterested Charles Barkley looked at halftime of the Suns-Blazers game Monday night, it may have just been disappointment over losing to the PTIguys. Of course, he may have realized that he was sharing a desk with Matt Winer and Chris Webber who were filling in for Ernie Johnson and Kenny Smith as they presented at the Emmys, making him even more depressed for getting left behind. Then again, he did lose in the Outstanding Studio Analyst category to Kirk Herbstreit, so it wasn’t a great night for Chuck.

Here are a few of the other highlights. For a full list of the award winners, visit the official Emmy site.

• John Madden was given the Lifetime Achievement Award, presented by Dick Ebersol and Jerry Jones. It’s a wonder how both those men managed to share the spotlight, to honor someone else, no less.

College Gameday won for Oustanding Studio Show – Weekly, over FOX NFL Sunday, Inside the NBA on TNT, Inside the NFL and Studio 42 with Bob Costas..

• In what had to be a major disappointment for ESPN, The Outstanding Sports Documentary award went to HBO’s Assault in the Ring while the Outstanding Edited Sports Series/Anthology Award went to Hard Knocks: Training Camp with the Cincinnati Bengals, ostensibly leaving ESPN’s fantastic 30 for 30 series out in the cold.

• While Jeremy Schaap didn’t win the writing award named after his late father, he did pick up, along with those at E:60, the award for Outstanding Sports Journalism for his feature Wanted: Fugitive.

• Herbstreit beat out a solid cast of nominees, including Barkley, Tony Dungy, Al Leiter and Howie Long. Cris Collinsworth took home the Outstanding Sports Event Analyst statue over the likes of Jon Gruden, Jim Kaat, Tim McCarver, Phil Simms and Jeff Van Gundy.

• If you went with the odds that someone with the name “Michael” would take home the award for best Sports Personality, Play-by-Play – a 66% chance of that happening in this category – you went home a loser. Jim Nantz won the award over Mike Breen, Joe Buck, Mike Emrick, Al Michaels and Mike Tirico.

• I didn’t forget Bob Costas, did I?

%d bloggers like this: