Home > Sports > NCAAB; Recruiting: Carson’s College Plan Coming Together

NCAAB; Recruiting: Carson’s College Plan Coming Together

April 26, 2010

Point guard Mesa, Arizona Mesa AAU: Compton Magic Ht:5'10" Wt:170 lbs GPA:2.9 Class:2011 (High School)

LONG BEACH, Calif. – Jahii Carson de-committed from Oregon State earlier this month in part because he wanted to see which other schools would get involved and in only a few weeks things have taken off for the Mesa, Ariz., point guard.

It’s going just as Carson planned.

California, UNLV, Arizona, Oklahoma and Butler are some of the new programs involved with Carson, who finished with 16 points and at least eight assists in Compton Magic’s win against Organized Chaos Saturday at the Pangos Sweet 16.

Corona (Calif.) Centennial guard Mike Caffey had 18 points and Gabe York, a 2012 standout from Orange (Calif.) Lutheran, added 12 points. Memphis, Marquette, Arizona State and Washington have reached out to Carson as well.

After de-committing, I was hoping Pac-10 and Big East schools would start to come, up-tempo schools, and what I thought was going to happen is happening,” said Carson, who plans to visit Arizona in early May.

I started getting contact from schools that I wanted and the schools I was looking at but I still like Oregon State so I’m still trying to keep all the schools in the loop. I just want to keep my options open going into the spring and summer. I want to keep all my options open. I don’t want to give any school an edge over any other school.”

Despite backing away from his Oregon State pledge, Carson said the Beavers are still being considered especially since he has such a strong relationship with assistant coach David Grace.

They’re still really in it,” Carson said. “They come see me whenever they can. Coach Grace still calls (Compton Magic coach) Etop (Udo-Ema) and I talk to him pretty much every day. I love him. He’s kind of like an uncle. He wants me for more than just basketball. He wants to help me become a young man.”

