Home > Sports > NFL: Report: Raiders To Fire Tom Cable Today

NFL: Report: Raiders To Fire Tom Cable Today

January 12, 2010

Oakland Raiders owner Al Davis is expected to fire coach Tom Cable today, according to the San Francisco Chronicle.

A meeting between Davis and Cable was scheduled for today, and the newspaper reports Cable will be let go, but it’s uncertain for exactly what reason (the Randy Hanson scandal or the failure to win games and groom No. 1 overall pick JaMarcus Russell into a starting quarterback).

Just last week, Cable held a team meeting, met briefly with Davis and began roster evaluations with his assistants in a typical start to an offseason.

“All I know is I have a contract right now,” Cable told the Associated Press on Jan. 5. “Whether or not that’s honored is not up to me. I’m a ball coach. I’m a damned good football coach so things will work out. They always do.”

Cable has a 9-19 overall record since replacing Lane Kiffin early in 2008.
That‘s part of the reason why I wanted to come here. I think about it a lot.”

